UncommonTEEN: The Podcast for Christian Teen Girls

21. How Do I Study the Bible So I Can Understand It?

June 13, 2022 Jamie Kirschner Season 2 Episode 21
UncommonTEEN: The Podcast for Christian Teen Girls
21. How Do I Study the Bible So I Can Understand It?
Show Notes

I have had many teen girls come to me over the years asking me what devotional is a good devotional for them to read. It’s a great question. I would venture to say that most everyone who listens to this podcast probably has read some kind of devotional in their life, right? I know I have. 

However, do you want to know which devotional I think is the best devotional to read? My answer is usually none. I don’t care for devotionals at all and can I tell you why?

Most of the time, when we read devotionals, we are using those devotionals as our Bible Studies instead of reading the Word of God. Most devotionals start with a Bible verses or a couple verses, then it goes on to describe what the author believes about those verses and you’re done. However, when we study devotionals that way, we are not actually getting into the Bible for ourselves. 

Ladies, John 8:31-32 tells us that when we abide in God and His Word abides in us. Then, we are His disciples and then the truth that we know will make us free. 

The key to freedom in every area of our life is getting into the Word of God for ourselves. 

Now, you may be asking, okay, Jamie, that makes sense and all, but don’t you have a devotional that you wrote. 

Yes, yes I do. However, if you have read my devotional, you will see that I don’t want you to just blindly believe what I’m saying, I really do want you to get into the Word and see what God is saying directly to you!

Hebrews 4:12 says, “For the Word of God is alive and powerful. It is sharper than the sharpest two-edged sword, cutting between the soul and the spirit, between joint and marrow. It exposes our innermost thoughts and desires.

 Today, I want to talk about how to study the Bible so that, one, so that you can actually understand what you’re reading, but two so that your time with God isn’t boring. 

So, how do you read the Bible in a way that it is working effectively in your life?

Check out this week's podcast episode!

**IMPORTANT**
Want to join Coach Jamie this summer and learn how to study your Bible in a way that you can understand it? In a way that doesn't make it boring? And in a way that you can apply it to your life?

Check out the Stand Strong Bible Study starting June 20th!

Go to the UncommonTEEN app and click on the tab that says, "Bible Study."

Connect With Us!

Website:
UncommonTEEN.com

Instagram:
@uncommon.teen

Join us for our Live Q&A on Instagram every Friday evening at 8pm Central (6pm Pacific, 7pm Mountain, and 9pm Eastern)!